Courage


It takes a lot of courage just to be yourself. I don’t know if I’m completely there yet, but I am a lot closer to accepting myself, flaws and all, than I was a few years ago. Recently I fell flat on my face at the gym while trying to get on a treadmill (someone had left it running and I didn’t notice). The old me probably would have gone home out of embarrassment but I got some band aids and got right back on to do my run. I realize I probably looked pathetic/brutal/funny when I fell, but who cares?! It’s my workout and I don’t even know these people. There is something to be said for learning to take yourself less seriously at times.

These days my heroes are everyday extraordinary people. Those who don’t let hardships or tough times keep them down, who keep going in the face of difficulty. They are friends who know how to laugh at themselves and learn life’s lessons without beating themselves up about it. Most of all, they are the people who are not afraid to be themselves, even if that means they like to play dungeons & dragons, are really into debating, or love wearing lots of makeup…maybe even all three! Maybe they love fencing, neurology, or singing opera… I think you get the point. As someone once said, “The greatest privilege in life is being who you are.” Contrary to popular belief, you don’t need to buy anything or change anything – you are perfect just the way you are 🙂

Leave a Reply

