What are we weighing?


Every time we step on the scale, what are we ACTUALLY measuring? Our “success”? Our “self worth”? Our “beauty”? I hate to break it to you but the scale can’t measure any of these things.

What then are we measuring? The number on the scale tells us the weight of our 206 bones, hundreds of muscles, brain, heart, liver, kidneys, pancreas, lungs, intestines, blood, skin, and yes, fat. When the number on the scale changes we have no way of knowing if we lost or gained fat or something else like fluid, muscle mass, or bone density!!

Another key thing I’d like to point out is that each of us is built differently. For example, I walked on stage at a lean 158lb for a fitness competition (I’m 5’8″) and i was a size 6! Nobody would believe me when I told them how much I weighed! One lb of muscle takes up way less space than one lb of fat.

I urge you to stop weighing yourself and find out how YOU define success, self worth, and beauty. Throw out your popular magazines that glorify skinny and slim! CREATE YOUR OWN IDEALS! You have and are everything you need to be!

Leave a Reply

