My Home Gym


A home gym doesn’t have to be fancy or take up a lot of room.  As a new mom on a budget the best option for me was to give up my gym membership and work out at home.  This way I don’t have to pay for childcare while I work out and I save tons of time by not having to go anywhere to get in my workout.  Did I mention there are no line ups for equipment and I get to use my own shower?

1. Road bike + trainer = instant cardio.   This is by far my most expensive piece of training equipment but it is super versatile because I can ride my bike outside during the warm weather and train inside when the weather is cold and crummy.  It also doesn’t take up much room, making it ideal for small spaces.  Another plus is that you don’t have to plug it in so it won’t increase your power bill 🙂  I recommend a magnet or fluid trainer rather than a wind trainer because wind trainers are just too noisy!

2. Yoga mat.  great for core work, stretching, and of course, yoga!   I use Jade yoga mats made from real rubber because they are eco-friendly, last a long time, and are not slippery like plastic ones.

3. Dumbbells.  Right now I have 10lb and 20lb dumbbells which do the trick for most things.  To increase training volume I simply increase reps or sets, or I choose harder exercises (ex. squat thrusters vs squat + overhead press; 1 leg squat vs 2 leg squat…you get the idea)

4. Resistance bands.  My at-home cables 🙂  These are also pretty versatile.  These are also great for travelling and super easy to store.

5. A chair.   This chair is my desk chair but it also doubles as my workout bench.  From dumbbell step-ups to triceps dips, a steady chair can be a great addition to your home gym and chances are you already have one!

So there you have it – that’s currently my home gym.  It may not have a lot of bells and whistles but it works for me.  Home gyms can take on many forms – be resourceful and take advantage of what you already have, then add from there 🙂  Remember, fitness is something you do, not something you buy~!  Yes, a few pieces of equipment can really help but you don’t need to have state of the art equipment to get the job done (visions of Rocky training in Russia come to mind).  Get out there and bust a move!

~Live Inspired~!

Emily

Leave a Reply

