Week 2 – Grocery Shopping


So Week 2 of my Frugal February is here and I was WAY over budget today.  There were a few staples that I needed to buy (oats, olive oil, quinoa, etc.) and I wanted to try a few things – like making seitan (aka “wheat meat”) that required special ingredients. Fresh salmon filets were also on sale so I bought 5 of them so I can freeze a few portions for later. Thankfully I have a PC Plus card and got $60 of free groceries today with my points!  My total would have been $170 but it was only $110 🙂  Pretty close to the $100 weekly budget but I still feel like I’m kind of cheating. I’m starting to wonder if $100/week is really realistic if you want to eat well and have variety.

Price matching did save me a fair amount today – I got a pineapple for $1.99, English cucumbers for $0.99 each, and saved a few bucks on the sweet potatoes and grapes.  I go to a cheaper store so many of the deals I had listed were already cheaper!  My trip to Bulk Barn on the other hand was very expensive.  One thing that I need to start doing again is making a Price List (a list of things I buy often and how much they are at different stores) so that I can see if it actually is cheaper at the bulk store.

Looking forward to trying out the seitan recipe from the cookbook “Big Vegan” by Robin Asbell!  I will definitely write about that since it is seems super weird and I’m not sure that I’m going to like it but if it turns out then it will be a great meat substitute 🙂

All the glorious food I got this week!

All the glorious food I got this week!

7 comments

    1. I totally agree! I have saved lots of money on groceries over the years using those points. I know some people love their Aeroplan points but for me it is much more practical to get free food – not to mention that there is also Joe Fresh and housewares too 🙂

      1. Absolutely….I do, however, refuse to use my points on food – seems so boring – Joe Fresh is my favourite!!! Especially “end of season” sales…I got a lovely down jacket (actually 2 of them) and it squishes right down to just a handful – served me well for a trip to NZ.

Leave a Reply

