Frugal February Challenge -Wrap Up


Last month I tried to only spend $100/week on groceries by using menu planning and price matching.  Overall I spent about $120/week and learned that I am not always very organized. Here’s what I learned:

  1. Trying a lot of new recipes often means spending more money to buy random ingredients.  It also means more time in the kitchen. There were a few things that I wanted to make that I didn’t get to because I am a busy lady.  Bottom line: It’s good to have “go-to” recipes that are easy.
  2. I do better with a plan. It was much easier to shop and cook when I had the right stuff in my kitchen.  I also feel more control over my life when I have a plan and when I prepare food ahead of time. Bottom line: A weekly menu and batch cooking are my friends!
  3. $100/week is not enough money for us. Bottom line: I value eating healthy food and am willing to spend more on it.
  4. Sometimes I make meals out of mama guilt – I want to make sure that my son eats well. and just because I don’t eat pasta much doesn’t mean he shouldn’t.  Anyway, making spaghetti and then having him not eat it because what he really wants is a pb and j sandwich or yogurt and fruit is not helpful. I spend time cooking something he (and I) don’t really want and then I am the one who ends up eating it because I don’t want to waste it.  Bottom line: Two year olds are hard to predict – just because he eats something at daycare doesn’t mean he will eat it at home.  I can’t cook multiple meals so I will make what I like and he can take it or leave it. Feeding him PB & J and yogurt, etc. doesn’t make me a lazy or bad parent.
Leave a Reply

